Dog Lobbyist?

Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 9:04 pm Leave a comment

PERMISSION TO CROSSPOST AND FORWARD IS GRANTED BY ORIGINAL SENDER

<>Bill Hemby
Legislative Advocate
530-272-7606

I have been speaking with a number of dog fanciers, working dog breeders and such.  I have been involved in Borzoi for 30 years and before that I have shown German Shephards.

My day job of course is the Director of Legislative Affairs for the California Organiation of Police and Sheriffs, COPS.  I am what is known as a Contract Lobbyist.  I have been a lobbyist for about 25 years.  In my time I have sponsord, written and shepherded at least 200 bills through the legislature.  I have participated in at least 1000 bills dealing with crime, workers compensation, insurance, retirement, public safety, taxes, traffic, film industry, elections, health insurance, animals and a host of other issues.

I was involved in rewriting the first breed specific bill into a more sane vicious dog law that protected breeders.  I fought against several other anti-dog bills after that.  I was involved in the running of the Responsible Dog Owners of the Golden State (RDOGS) which, by the way,  is still a viable non profit California Corporation.  I am the only remaining officer of that Corporation.  I am in the process of resurrecting this organization.

My experience in the last 30 years has abeen with non profit associations, I run two non-profit 501(c)3 corporations which I created in the years 2000 and 2002.  I have been closely involved in at least three gubernatorial campaigns and half a dozen state-wide initiatives, the last being Jessica’s Law.  I know how to set up and run a political action committee.  I know how to run a state wide campaign, I know how to get someone elected and how to get someone unelected.  In short, for the past 30 years I have been steeped in politics both in California and nationally.  I have close contact with professionals who run political campaigns, set up PACs, put together grass roots political campaigns and raise large amounts of funding.

Why all this background stuff?  Because, I am truly convinced dog owners, not just the fancy, need a political action committee to protect their interests.  I know the only thing that will save dog owner’s rights to own, show and love their dogs is joining the political action fight.  I am convinced with the millions of dog owners in California, the internet and with enough volunteers from outraged dog owners we can develop one of the most powerful lobbies in this state.  However, I also know if we break up into factions who have separate agendas, as has happened in the past, we are doomed to fail.

I am suggesting that we set up a meeting in the very near future and invite anyone who wants to show up to discuss whether there is enough support to move ahead with this idea.  I ask that you and others on dog lists please circulate this email and see if there is interest.

Thanks for your help!

Bill Hemby

Director of Legislative Affairs, COPS

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Picking up pieces, grass roots gathering Progress! Some points of thought

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Technorati Favorites

Add to Technorati Favorites

Event Calendar

April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

del.icio.us

Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

Selsey Life Boat Station

A Frouxeira...

My Heart Spills into Vestal Peak

More Photos

